News from the Locarno Festival
 

Mathieu Kassovitz erhält den Excellence Award Moët & Chandon 2017

Mathieu Kassovitz

Share:

Locarno70 zeichnet Mathieu Kassovitz mit dem Exellence Award Moët & Chandon aus. Am Samstag, 5. August wird der Schauspieler, Regisseur und Drehbuchautor der Weltpremiere des des Films Sparring von Samuel Jouy auf der Piazza Grande beiwohnen.

Der Excellence Award Moët & Chandon der 70. Ausgabe des Locarno Festivals geht an Mathieu Kassovitz, eine herausragende Persönlichkeit des französischen und internationalen Films, ein beliebter aber auch umstrittener Regisseur und zugleich Darsteller in mehreren Kultfilmen. Einem breiten Publikum bekannt ist er unter anderem durch seine Rolle des Nino Quincampoix an der Seite von Audrey Tautou in Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain (2001) von Jean-Pierre Jeunet.

Mathieu Kassovitz debütierte bereits mit elf Jahren als Schauspieler in Au bout du bout du banc (1978). Der Film erwies sich für ihn als Sprungbrett für eine Karriere vor und hinter der Kamera. 1993 brachte ihm sein Film Métisse den er selbst geschrieben hatte, bei dem er zudem Regie führte und darin eine der Hauptrollen spielte, zwei Nominierungen für den César ein. 1994 brachte ihm seine Rolle im Film Regarde les hommes tomber von Jacques Audiard schliesslich den César in der Kategorie bester männlicher Nachwuchsdarsteller ein. Er stellte sein Talent weiter unter Beweise in Le cinquième élément (1997) von Luc Besson und als er als Regisseur von La haine (1995) sein eigenes Drehbuch verfilmte, ausgezeichnet mit dem Regiepreis des Festivals von Cannes. Der Film, in dem er die Rolle eines Skinheads übernahm, bleibt brandaktuell, geprägt von roher Gewalt und als Sinnbild einer verlorenen Generation. In den Jahren danach verfolgte Kassovitz seine Karriere zwischen Essay-Filmen und Mainstream-Arbeiten weiter und arbeitete mit hochkarätigen Regisseuren wie Costa-Gavras (Amen, 2002), Steven Spielberg (Munich, 2005) und Michael Haneke (Happy End, 2017) zusammen.

Laut Carlo Chatrian, künstlerischer Leiter des Locarno Festivals «gehört Mathieu Kassovitz zu den talentiertesten Schauspielern seiner Generation. Man nimmt ihm unterschiedlichsten Rollen ab: als Priester ist er ebenso glaubwürdig wie als Mossad-Agent. Als Boxer und Familienvater Steve Landry in Sparring überzeugt er ebenso wie kurz zuvor in Happy End. Kassovitz ist wie kaum ein zweiter in der Lage, die verschiedensten Seelen eines Volkes zu verkörpern.»

Mathieu Kassovitz wird den Excellence Award Moët & Chandon am Samstag, 5. August auf der Piazza Grande entgegennehmen. Darüber hinaus werden einige ausgewählte Filme aus seiner Karriere gezeigt.

Die bisherigen Preisträgerinnen und –träger des Excellence Awards sind Susan Sarandon, John Malkovich, Michel Piccoli, Isabelle Huppert, Gael García Bernal, Juliette Binoche, Giancarlo Giannini, Edward Norton und 2016 Bill Pullman. Moët & Chandon unterstützt den Preis 2017 zum neunten Mal.

Nützliche Links

Follow us


© Locarno Festival
Impressum & Disclaimer

News from the Locarno Festival
 

Mathieu Kassovitz to receive 2017 Excellence Award Moët & Chandon

Mathieu Kassovitz

Share:

Locarno70 is rendering homage to Mathieu Kassovitz with the Excellence Award Moët & Chandon. The French actor, filmmaker and screenwriter will be its guest on the Piazza Grande on the occasion of the world premiere of Sparring by Samuel Jouy, on Saturday 5 August.

The Excellence Award Moët & Chandon of the 70th Locarno Festival will be given to Mathieu Kassovitz, a unique figure within French and international cinema, a beloved and controversial director on the one hand and the interpreter of cult films on the other. He is known to the wider public thanks to his performance in the role of Nino Quincampoix together with Audrey Tautou in Le fabuleux destin d’Amélie Poulain (2001) by Jean-Pierre Jeunet.

Mathieu Kassovitz made his debut as an actor at the age of eleven in Au bout du bout du banc (1978), the starting point for a lifetime as an actor and for a career spent before and behind the camera. In 1993 the film Métisse, which he wrote, directed and acted in, garnered him two nominations at the Césars. In 1994 his performance in Jacques Audiard’s film Regarde les hommes tomber (1994) consecrated him due to a César for best male emerging talent. The talent and uniqueness of this actor and director are confirmed by his 1997 performance in Le cinquième élément by Luc Besson and in La haine in 1995 – the latter written and directed by him. It won the Palme in Cannes for best director – in it, he tailors a role for himself as a skinhead – it is of a chilling topicality, and a viral force, recounting a forgotten generation and an entire country through one single suburb. In the following years, Kassovitz continued his career between auteur cinema and mainstream cinema, collaborating with filmmakers of great depth such as Costa-Gavras (Amen, 2002), Steven Spielberg (Munich, 2005) and Michael Haneke (Happy End, 2017).

Carlo Chatrian, Artistic Director of the Locarno Festival: “Mathieu Kassovitz is one of the most talented actors of his generation. He is the heir of that great tradition of performers who manage to achieve credibility in the most diverse roles: in the shoes of a priest as much as in a Mossad agent’s. His all-rounded performance in the shoes of the boxer and father Steve Landry in Sparring, which shortly followed his acting in Happy End, is the umpteenth confirmation that Kassovitz is an actor who knows how to embody the differing souls of a people like few others can.”

Mathieu Kassovitz will receive the Excellence Award Moët & Chandon on the Piazza Grande on Saturday 5 August. His tribute will be accompanied by the screening of a selection of films from his career.

Amongst Excellence Award winners during the previous editions, are Susan Sarandon, John Malkovich, Michel Piccoli, Isabelle Huppert, Gael García Bernal, Juliette Binoche, Giancarlo Giannini, Edward Norton, and Bill Pullman in 2016. Moët & Chandon is supporting this award for the ninth consecutive year.

Useful links

Follow us


© Locarno Festival
Impressum & Disclaimer